top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureltvizazi03

Waste into Energy?

These past weeks I have finally found what I really wanted to focus on for my Original work. What I have chosen is to find a way to use waste and turn it into energy. What made me choose this topic is the fact that I notice that we have so much trash we through away even just with my family, so all together humanity must have loads of wastes and trash. Now the question remains on how we can use that trash and reuse it to create energy. One way I initially thought of was incineration. This was one way where the trash can be burned and used to produce electricity. The disadvantage of this is that it is only harming the environment even more. This is why I did some more research on methods that did not use combustion. The method I found out about was anaerobic digestion where bacteria is used to break down wastes and give off the byproduct of biogas. This biogas can be used to cook on the stove or for any use that may need gas. Although it still does release some gas it is at a much lower rate than trash just being put out into landfills. One of the companies I saw that are using this method effectively is called HomeBiogas and were able to make a system that can work in places near homes. This week I hope to finish my original work and find out more information about how we can effectively use anaerobic digestion and biogas.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page