top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureltvizazi03

Learning from Others

You can learn in many ways.  One way that is a pretty effective way to learn is by asking people who may know about your topic. This past week I was able to talk to an engineer. I want to go into the mechanical engineering field and have no experience, so why not ask someone who already has some type of experience. I was able to chat with an ISM alumnus who is currently in college and they were able to give me some really good information and advice. One of the things I asked them about was about females in the engineering field. From adults and just reading media, I have always heard that females in the engineering field, predominately male, have it a little rough. The alumni told me that this is true and there are instances where they had to face inequality due to their gender, but she said most of the time it is not like this. Companies are really trying to diversify their companies and they also stated that they knew some of the males and they seem to respect other females in the field as well. This made me feel better since even though I am still in high school sometimes I am disrespected and males tend to treat me differently in my engineering classes since they think I do not know anything. The alumni told me that I can do anything I put my mind to, so in situations like those, I should not be discouraged and should stand up for myself and become a leader. So this past week I was able to create an amazing connection with the alumni as well as learn new things about the career I want to pursue,

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page