top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureltvizazi03

Local pollution?

Right before the break, I had done some further research for my original work. At first, I was doing my project on a general problem, but after talking to my ISM teacher it has been brought to my attention that it may not be feasible as it would cause a lot of unnecessary work that would not fit many businesses. After coming to that conclusion I have decided to take on a problem that is occurring locally. One of the things I have found out about was a battery plant that was discontinued and removed in my city. The only thing is that it left many lead deposits that can be toxic. After I found that problem I have done some research on ways they may be able to remove as much lead as they can from the contaminated area. The method I had found is called biosorption and is used when the lead is in a water supply, so this may help remove the lead that may have gotten into the water in the area. Furthermore, I am still looking for an engineer who would be able to show me more information about engineers and the environment. My goals for this week are to be able to find a problem of some type of pollution in my city and find ways to prevent it and also get in contact with professionals whose niche is environmental health.



Wigglesworth, Valerie. “Frisco Raises Concerns after More Lead-Tainted Battery Chips Found at Defunct Exide Plant.” Dallas News, The Dallas Morning News, 25 Aug. 2019, www.dallasnews.com/news/2017/06/30/frisco-raises-concerns-after-more-lead-tainted-battery-chips-found-at-defunct-exide-plant/.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page